WaterMark Certification Scheme

WaterMark Certification Scheme

There is a requirement in the National Construction Code Volume Three – Plumbing Code of Australia for certain plumbing and drainage products to be certified and authorised for use in a plumbing or drainage installation. These products are certified and authorised through the application of the WaterMark Certification Scheme.

Certified products are listed on the WaterMark Product Database and are identified by the WaterMark certification trademark, which must be marked on the product upon the granting of a WaterMark Licence. To search the Database, go to www.abcb.gov.au.

The Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) manages and administers the WaterMark Certification Scheme for plumbing and drainage products. The Joint Accreditation System of Australia and New Zealand (JAS-ANZ) accredits WaterMark Conformity Assessment Bodies (WMCABs), who in turn evaluate and certify plumbing and drainage products.

The Scheme is governed by the Rules for the WaterMark Certification Scheme, including the Approved Certifier and Approved User Agreements, and the Manual for the WaterMark Certification Scheme. The Manual details the operating structure of the Scheme, and the process and procedural requirements for the certification of plumbing and drainage products, risk assessment and drafting product specifications.

The Rules and the Manual are available from www.abcb.gov.au

© 2017 Commonwealth of Australia and States and Territories of Australia July 2017

WaterMark Product Certification

WMCABs evaluate and certify products against Product Specifications or Standards, listed on the WaterMark Schedule of Products.

Where a product cannot be evaluated against an existing Product Specification or Standard, an application can be prepared for the ABCB Office to review and approve a new Product Specification or Standard. Once approved and included on the Schedule, WMCABs can evaluate and certify the product to the new Product Specification or Standard.

Organisations seeking WaterMark certification for their product should apply directly to a WMCAB. A list of WMCABs can be found at www.abcb.gov.au

Any organisation that can satisfy a WMCAB that its product meets the requirements outlined in the Rules and the Manual can have its product WaterMark certified and obtain a WaterMark licence. Individual WMCABs may have specific application and engagement processes.

WaterMark Conformity Assessment Bodies

Organisations seeking to become accredited as a WMCAB should apply directly to JAS-ANZ. The requirements for WaterMark accreditation are set out in the Approved Certifier Agreement, which is available from the ABCB.

Any organisation that can satisfy JAS-ANZ that it meets these requirements can become a WMCAB.

To find out more about how to become a WaterMark Conformity Assessment Body:

Visit www.jas-anz.org
Email contact [at] jas-anz.org
Call +61 (2) 6232 2000

To obtain further information about the WaterMark Certification Scheme:

Visit www.abcb.gov.au
Email watermark [at] abcb.gov.au
Call 1300 134 631


  • Demonstrates that plumbing and drainage products comply with the applicable Standard(s) through the WaterMark Certificate of Conformity.
  • Provides a nationally consistent, risk-based certification scheme for ensuring the quality of certain materials and products used in plumbing and drainage installations.

Scheme owner

Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB).

More information

An application pack, application form and other relevant material is not available on this site. These documents are available through our SharePoint portal. If you are a body that we currently accredit, you can access this information through the Shared CAB Portal. If you are a new applicant, please complete an application enquiry form. Once this form is submitted, the Secretariat will contact you to advise the next steps.  For other stakeholders, please submit your inquiry through the online feedback form.