Food Safety Management Systems Scheme

Food Safety Management Systems Scheme

The scheme is based on certifications which demonstrate an organisation’s ability to exercise adequate hazard control in order to ensure the safety of food and feed industries.  There are various standards recognised under this scheme, each based on CODEX Alimentarius Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) principles.

The publicly available certification standard recognised under this scheme is ISO 22000:2018 - Food safety management systems - Requirements for any organisation in the food chain, which is aimed at all organizations in the food and feed industries, regardless of size or sector. This edition was published on 6 June 2018 and replaces the earlier edition ISO 22000:2005. Organisations certified to the standard have three years from the date of publication to transition to the new version.

Applicant CABs will need to comply with ISO 22003-1:2022 - Food safety - Part 1: Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of food safety management systems.

As a management systems scheme, applicants also need to comply with ISO/IEC 17021-1:2015 – Conformity Assessment – Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems.


ISO 22000:2018 enables businesses to apply dynamic control of food safety hazards combining key elements that include: interactive communication, systems management, Prerequisite Programmes (PRPs), and the principles of Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP). The new edition brings improvements for food safety through:

  • Adoption of the High-Level Structure common to all ISO management system standards, making it easier for organizations to combine ISO 22000 with other management systems (such as ISO 9001 or ISO 14001) at a given time
  • A new approach to risk – as a vital concept in the food business – which distinguishes between risk at the operational level and the business level of the management system
  • Strong links to the Codex Alimentarius and alignment with internationally agreed food safety guidelines for governments.

Scheme owner

International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

More information

An application pack, application form and other relevant material is not available on this site. These documents are available through our SharePoint portal. If you are a body that we currently accredit, you can access this information through the Shared CAB Portal. If you are a new applicant, please complete an application enquiry form. Once this form is submitted, the Secretariat will contact you to advise the next steps.  For other stakeholders, please submit your inquiry through the online feedback form.